• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 excelnewbie

excelnewbie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 10 April 2016 - 08:05 PM

Hi, I'm a newbie and just trying to create my first spreadsheet and can't manage to do the following. Any tips in beginner speak would be greatly appreciated. Many Thanks in advance

I'm trying to create a spreadsheet and I need a list like this.

Column B = Colum A1 * Colum H1 (Colum H is a constant)      

(Colum A = Miles, Colum B = £/Miles

I've tried to autofill Column B downwards so that I don't need to copy formula for every row but it doesn't change the reference to the row.

This is how I want it to function:

A1 * H1

A2 * H1

A3 * H1

Is there a way to autofill that?

#2 Jonathan

Jonathan

Forums Administrator

• Administrators
  • 843 posts

Posted 10 April 2016 - 09:28 PM

Hi Excelnewbie,

What you're looking for is an absolute reference. These are cell references that you don't want to be changed when you fill the formula down.

The best place to start is the video lesson: Essential Skills Lesson 3-12 Understand absolute and relative cell references.

This will explain absolute and relative cell references much better than I could here.

In your specific example, the solution would be to create the formula like this:

=A1*$H$1

By using the $ signs, you're telling Excel that it shouldn't change the reference to cell H1 when the formula is filled down.

You can also go a step further and only use a single $ sign to tell Excel that it shouldn't change the row or column part of a reference but can still change the other part. For example, $H1 would allow the row numbers to increment as the formula was filled down but wouldn't allow the reference to column H to be changed if the formula was filled across.

You can learn all about mixed cell references in the video lesson: Essential Skills Lesson 3-13 Understand mixed cell references.