1 reply to this topic

#1 mdavids2

mdavids2

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 14 February 2014 - 08:34 PM

Hello,

I'm a CPA and I work a lot with Pivot Tables.  When I create pivot tables I would like to be able to add references to (on right) and from (on left).

I've attached an Excel file showing (in table format) what I would like to be able to do.

My question is: Is there a way to insert a column between pivot table columns where I can add manual text.

Thank you,

Mike

Attached File  Excel question.xlsx   10.41KB   258 downloads

#2 Jonathan

Jonathan

Forums Administrator

• Administrators
  • 887 posts

Posted 15 February 2014 - 12:49 AM

Hi Mike,

There are two answers to your question depending upon whether you are using Excel 2007/2010 or Excel 2013.

Excel 2007/2010

Unfortunately you cannot insert new columns into an Excel 2007/2010 pivot table.

You can, however, copy the pivot table and paste it "as values", which will extract the data from the pivot table and allow you to edit it in any way you wish (but, of course, it will then no longer be a pivot table)

For full instructions on how to paste "as values", see Essential Skills Lesson 3-5: Use Paste Values and increase decrease decimal places displayed.

For instructions on how to create a pivot table, see Expert Skills Lesson 5-1: Create a pivot table.

Excel 2013

This version of Excel introduces a brand new Data Model feature covered in Expert Skills Session Six: The Data Model, OLAP, MDX and BI

Pivot tables based upon a Data Model look very similar to those based on a single range but actually work in a different way and have different features.  Their primary feature is the ability to reference more than one source data table a the same time.