• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Double AD

Double AD

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 21 March 2014 - 05:40 AM

I'm trying to create a formula for a truck loan using =PMT but I can't seem to get it to work correctly.   I want the formula to use the Loan amount with the monthly interest rate (beginning of month), a regular payment, and and extra payment on the principal, and figure the number of months left on the loan and the payoff date.

I am fairly new to Excell and am studying the Excel lessons which are great and a little slow with this stuff but I created a Payoff schedule file which is working great except for these new enhancements I've just added.   Anybody has any ideas I'm sure listening......Thanks!!!

LENDER BEGINNING SCHEDULED DATE ACCELERATED   Months: PayOff Date: NAME BALANCE PAYMENT PAID PAYMENT       Centris CFU - Ford Truck              21,084.08  $                388.92                    111.08           3701 August 16, 2322

Formula for months left on loan (Months) =PMT(2.53/12,6*12,21255.29,0,1)

Formula for figuring the PayOff Date                                           =DATE(2014,3-M7,16)

#2 Jonathan

Jonathan

Forums Administrator

• Administrators
  • 888 posts

Posted 21 March 2014 - 12:17 PM

The PMT function is used to calculate the payment amount for a loan, but it seems that in this case you know the payment amount and want to calculate the number of periods.

To do this, you need to use the NPER function instead of the PMT function.

The NPER function is almost exactly the same as the PMT function, but it extracts the number of periods instead of the payment amount.  You can also use the PV and RATE functions to calculate the present value and interest rate of a loan if you have the other values.

The PMT function is covered in the PDF and video lesson: Expert Skills Lesson 3-3: Use the formula palette and the PMT function.