• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Destiny

Destiny

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 29 December 2015 - 01:14 AM

Hello, I am a beginner with Excel. I would appreciate some help with the following questions.
#1. I know how to delete duplicates, but I need to find the duplicates, and then count the number of times they appear in a specific time frame. Here's my situation; I am looking at the total number of patients that come to the emergency room. Some come only once, but others have multiple visits within that month. I need a quick way to sort and capture the total number of visits, the repeat visits, and the total number of visits once (excluding the repeat visits).
#2. My other question is related to the three hospital shifts (07:00 am - 15:30 pm. 15:30 pm- 23:30, & 23:30- 07:00). I need to determine which shift is the busiest. What is the best way to do this on a pivot table or any other Excel function? 
My mentor for this job is not savvy with Excel; she does the work, but it takes forever. I know that there is a better way. Can you help?
Thank you.
Destiny

#2 Jonathan

Jonathan

Forums Administrator

• Administrators
  • 862 posts

Posted 29 December 2015 - 07:30 PM

Hi Destiny,

This is certainly possible by using a few advanced skills. I've made up some test data to use as an example:

ER1.png

You said you needed summaries of the number of first-time visits and the number of repeat visits. To do this, you'll need a formula that counts the number of previous visits by each patient. You can do this by using the COUNTIF function to create a formula like this:

=COUNTIF($B$4:$B4,[Patient Name])-1

The COUNTIF function is explained in depth in the video lesson: Expert Skills Lesson 3-6 Create an Excel SUMIF function and Excel COUNTIF function.